Events

Upcoming Events

Pre-High Holiday Learning & Support Sessions for Clergy

The Avodah Institute & T’ruah are co-sponsoring a virtual 2-part workshop series on how to integrate justice themes into your speaking and writing for the 5782 High Holidays.

Panel Discussion & Text Study (Session 1)

Wednesday, August 4th: 10:30-11:45am PT / 11:30am-12:45pm MT / 12:30-1:45pm CT / 1:30-2:45pm ET

The first session will be led by Rabbis Aryeh Bernstein, Lev Meirowitz Nelson, and Lauren Tuchman. The session will include a panel discussion as well as an interactive text study. We will focus on reflecting on where your community is at right now, sharing your own justice analysis and connections, bringing those together for this moment, and anchoring all of that in text.

Small Group Workshopping (Session 2)

Tuesday, August 10th: 10:30-11:45am PT / 11:30am-12:45pm MT / 12:30-1:45pm CT / 1:30-2:45pm ET

The second session will be facilitated by Catherine Bell, Rabbi Aryeh Bernstein, Yoshi Silverstein, and Rabbi Lauren Tuchman. We will be workshopping justice-related content that you’ve generated (sermon drafts, other remarks or writings related to your high holiday gatherings, etc.) in small breakout rooms.

Both sessions take place online via Zoom. The sessions are meant to build off of each other, but you’re also welcome to attend them as stand-alone sessions. A recording will be available from the first session only.

Avodah inspires their members to become leaders for social change whose work for justice is rooted in and nourished by Jewish values. In order to align our food choices with these values, Avodah is adopting DefaultVeg for all meetings and events we host to shift our purchasing practices away from factory farming — a root cause of social injustice for humans, animals, and the environment. Read more about why Avodah chose to adopt DefaultVeg.